The Twitter crew is working on new strong privacy measures that will offer users more control over who can see their posts and likes and who may follow them.
One of the new features, dubbed “social privacy,” will allow users to update the list of subscribers as well as give tools for preserving previous communications; that is, users will be able to specify the time (30, 60, or 90 days) throughout which tweets will be available to other users. According to Bloomberg, the feature is currently at the ideation level.
According to the company’s research, many Twitter users do not grasp the fundamentals of privacy and are unaware that their messages are accessible to everyone. As a result, they use the service less frequently, limit their self-expression, and do not engage in conversations.
Users will be able to choose who sees which tweets they like, such as everyone, followers, or specified groups. The function’s availability date is yet uncertain.
Another option allows individuals to unfollow anyone without blocking them. This year’s functional testing will commence in September.
Finally, people can be unfollowed in public conversations. At the moment, only the person sending the message may specify who he wants to mention. Before the end of the year, function testing will begin.